what if we doubt?

“What would you say to a youth that has doubts?”  they asked me in my interview.  It’s a good question for a search committee to ask a potential Youth Director.  A church needs to know how their staff is going to react when real life slaps the church in the face.  A church needs to know how their staff will handle the messiness of unscripted questions that won’t accept a cute bumper-sticker cliche for an answer.  A church needs to know that their leadership can provide them the confidence they need in passing along their faith to the next generation.  It was a great question. 

“I’d tell them that sometimes I doubt too, and maybe we can go to God together in our journey for answers.”  I’m not sure how I answered, but I hope it sounded something like this.  Better yet, I hope my approach to ministry answers this way for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

